Unwrapping the Excitement

Last Christmas, my sister gifted me Ticket to Ride by Days of Wonder, knowing how much I adore tabletop games. It had been ages since we’d had a chance to catch up, so we decided to have a sleepover and spend the night playing this game together. And boy, did we have a blast!

Ticket to Ride board game and components spread out on a white carpet

Exploring the Game Mechanics

Ticket to Ride had us hooked right from the start. It felt somewhat reminiscent of Point Salad (click here to read my Point Salad game review), where we collected “destination tickets” that each came with its own unique route and scoring objectives. The thrill of drawing “train car” cards, trying to collect enough to claim routes, added an extra layer of excitement to the gameplay. And of course, there was the strategic element of trying to block each other’s routes while competing for the coveted title of longest continuous path.

The Heartwarming Experience

What I loved most about Ticket to Ride was its perfect balance of strategy and simplicity. It’s the kind of game that’s easy to learn but offers endless opportunities for strategic play and replayability. Plus, the colorful game board and adorable train pieces added a charming touch to the whole experience.

As the night wore on, we found ourselves completely immersed in the game, laughing, strategizing, and having a blast. And even though we stayed up till six in the morning, we couldn’t tear ourselves away from the fun.

In the end, Ticket to Ride proved to be more than just a game. It was a catalyst for laughter, bonding, and unforgettable memories with my sister. And for that, it’ll always hold a special place in my heart.

Discover more of my reviews on card games by clicking here.
Learn more about my board game reviews by clicking here.
Explore my puzzle game reviews by clicking here.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started